Diabetes 101 Workshops

Are you or a loved one living with diabetes?

In partnership with NovoNordisk, the YMCA is excited to offer a free introductory workshop for individuals seeking more information about diabetes. You're invited to join this free class led by Sara Altuntas, Certified Diabetes Educator, to learn how to optimally manage your diabetes. Curriculum includes: basic diabetes information and terminology, tips for eating healthy and staying active, and reviews the fundamentals of diabetes medications.

2018 Diabetes 101 Workshop Schedule


Monday, March 26 |  Gordon Family YMCA, 9-11am

Tuesday, March 27 |  Haselwood Family YMCA, 9-11am 

Wednesday, March 28 |  Tom Taylor Family YMCA, 10:30am-12:30pm

Thursday, March 29 | Bremerton Family YMCA, 8-10am


Wednesday, April 18 |  Morgan Family YMCA, 11am-1pm

Wednesday, April 25 |  University Y Student Center, 10:30am-1pm


Wednesday, May 23 |  Gordon Family YMCA, 9-11am

Wednesday, May 30 |  Lakewood Family YMCA, 9-10:30am


Wednesday, June 6 |  Tom Taylor Family YMCA, 10:30am-12:30pm


Wednesday, September 26 |  University Y Student Center, 10am-2pm


Wednesday, October 17 |  Lakewood Family YMCA, 9-10:30am

Wednesday, October 24 | Gordon Family YMCA, 9-11am


Wednesday, November 7 |  Mel Korum Family YMCA, 9:30-11am

Tuesday, November 13 |  Haselwood Family YMCA, 9-11am 

Wednesday, November 14 |  Tom Taylor Family YMCA, 10:30am-12:30pm

Thursday, November 15 | Bremerton Family YMCA, 6-7:30pm


 Wednesday, December 12 | Tom Taylor Family YMCA, 10:30am-12:30pm

More Information

Contact Susan Buell at sbuell@ymcapkc.org or 253-460-8912 

Was this information helpful?

Yes No